serving the whole person


The EECMY South Central Synod is one of the large Synods of the Church and it is operating in Southern Nations, Nationalities and Peoples Regional Sate (SNNPRS). The Head Office of the Synod is located at Hosanna town and is carrying its ministry among Hadiyaa, Kambataa, Silte, Gurage, Oromo, Halaba and Konta people. Recently Yeme, Jimma, and Wolayita Sodo, which were under SCS have come under South West Synod, Arba Minch

According to the available data an American Medical Doctor by the name of Lambe came to Kambatta area as a Christian missionary with the Gospel and medical work, earlier than other missionaries. However, we do not know for how long time he stayed in the area with his ministry.

Following Dr. Lambe’s Ministry Finnish Evangelical Lutheran Mission arrived in Kambatta the Synod’ establishment begins with the Church’s (EECMY’s) second General Assembly and Hadiya area and launched Evangelistic and Medical work. They built four clinics in different localities provision of medical service to the communities there. It is to be noted that committed Ethiopian evangelists were very active to evangelize the area encountering many difficulties and challenges.

In January 1961 with 25,000.00 believers from Kambatta and Hadiya who were seeking membership of the Mekane Yesus Church were accepted as members of Mekane Yesus. Following this event the Christian community greatly increased in number and grew into a During those initial years the congregations were supported by Lutheran World Federation/LWF by provision of technical support, advising, teaching, and appointing ministers. After a few years since October 1, 1961 the FMS (Finish Mission Society), currently called as Finish Evangelical Lutheran Mission (FELM) has began supporting the growth of Christian community.

In January 1969, the 6th General Assembly of the EECMY, held in Wolaga-Aira, approved the Christians from Kambataa and Hadiya who became members of the Mekane Yesus Church to become a Synod

FELM which begun its partnership in 1968 is still working with the Synod and the Synod is still solely dependent on foreign financial aid for its activities.  During this long period of partnership and cooperation has served the Synod in social and evangelistic ministries in building different infrastructures, opening different institutions, developing manpower thus building the capacity of the Synod. 

It is worth mentioning that the former South Central Synod was divided into three Synods two years ago. One of the synods was Ambericho Bilate Synod (centered in Duramme), West Gibe Synod (centered in Gimbichu) and our Synod (South Central Synod, Hosanna). Currently the Synod constitutes 355 Congregations, 39 Preaching Places, and around 218,673 Members.

The Synod has a number of outreach areas and it is working with evangelistic out-reach activities in five clusters: Ziway and the surrounding out-reach area, Mareqo and the surrounding out-reach area, Butajirra and the surrounding out-reach area, Innamor and Enner out-reach area and Dawurro out-reach area. These areas are still dominated by different religions and they need special attention. The Congregations in the areas are still not self reliant. The Evangelists in these areas are paid by the local Congregations and Parishes in contract basis.

Regarding the institutions in the Synod there are four Bible Schools and one Theological Seminary which provides Theological Studies in Advanced Diploma and first Degree level.

Geographically the Synod works in Haddiya , Kembata-Tembarro, Dawurro, Silte and  Gurrage Zones , and  some areas of Oromia regional state/areas around Ziway.

1.  Major Activities of the Synod

The Synod runs different activities among the community. According to the church’s constitution the Synod is lead by the president and by the executive secretary of the Synod under their accountability to the Synod’s General Assembly and the Council of the Synod. In addition to its main activities the Synod also has joint programs like School for Deaf and Theological Seminary. The rest of the Synod’s activities are done under the following two departments.

A. Department for Mission and Theology (DMT)

This department comprises activities like outreach program, youth and Sunday School program and Christian Women work, Christian Education program, translation program that deals mainly with spiritual affairs of the Synod.

B. Development and Social Service Commission (DASSC)

This department leads programs related to the promotion and implementation of sustainable development programs like heath, family planning, sanitation, conservation of environment, adult education, and empowering and supporting the community in different aspects like education and farming as well. 

2.  Administration of the Synod

The Church ministries carried out by the Synod are led by the following current leaders of the Synod: 

Currently the Leaders of the Synod are Mr. Alemu Tumiso the president, Rev. Teshale Kassa the vice president and Mr. Markos Shanko Executive Secretary, and there other staff members.

The Synod is 230 Km from central office Addis Ababa. Please for any information feel free to contact the president and executive secretary of the Synod office +251465552229/+251465552230 or mobile: +251912005434/+251913039615.

SCS Multipurpose Hall


SCS New Guest House