serving the whole person

At the turn of the 19th Century, Ethiopian Christians began proclaiming the Gospel with the help of Lutheran and Presbyterian Missions in Ethiopia. From these joint efforts the Ethiopian Evangelical Church Mekane Yesus (EECMY) was instituted as a national Church on January 21, 1959.

In 1970s the EECMY developed the theme, "Serving the Whole Person", later on often quoted and referred to as Wholistic Ministry. This has throughout the years been a

guiding principle for all Church work, be it evangelism or development. The concern is not only for the spiritual need of a person, but also for the physical and human needs.


Dr. Emanuel G/Selassie
President 1959–1963

Mr. Hagos Legesse
E. Secretary 1958–1963

Mr. Emanuel Abraham
President 1963–1985

Rev. Ezra Gebremedhin
G. Secretary 1963–1966

Rev. Gudina Tumsa
G. Secretary 1966–1979

Rev. Francis Estephanos
President 1985–1993

Rev. Yadessa Daba
President 1993–2001

Rev. Megersa Guta
G. Secretary 1993–2006

Rev. Iteffa Gobena
President 2001–2009

Rev. Dr. Wakseyoum Idosa
G. Secretary 2006–2009
President 2009–

Rev. Dr. Berhanu Ofgaa
G. Secretary 2009–

At the end of 2014, the EECMY had 8,095 established congregations and 3,702 preaching places in 25 Synods, one Area Work and one Parishes (Galana Abaya). There are 3,235 pastors, 5,125 evangelists and some 491,541 voluntary persons actively involved in the mission work of the Church. The EECMY has 7,396,341 baptized and 3,937,470 communicant members. This growth has made the EECMY the largest Lutheran Church in Africa.