serving the whole person

The Ethiopian Evangelical Church Mekane Yesus Ambericho Bilate Synod was officially established and had its founding convention on April 2013 in Durame town.  The Synod is located at 320 Km from the capital Addis Ababa.

The first Evangelical pioneers who brought the Gospel to Kambatta and Hadiya people were Sudan Interior Mission. The available data shows that the Mission arrived in the area in 1936/7.  The believers were worshipping and serving together for a long time until 1957/8 when the leaders began to disagree on the doctrinal issues and the believers were divided into two groups. It was agreed that those who disagreed because of doctrine were accepted to the Ethiopian Evangelical Church Mekane Yesus. The number of believers were 25,000 at the beginning. Then the  6th General Assembly of the EECMY approved the establishment of the Christian community as Kembatta Synod in June 1969/70.

Ambericho Bilate Synod got its name from Ambericho Mountain, a much known mountain in the area Kmbata Tambaro zone and Bilate River which is located in the South Central Ethiopia. The Synod works in different zones and administrative districts such as Kambata Tambaro zone, Hadiya zone (Eastern and Western Badawacho), Oromiya Region (Western Arsi Siraro), Halaba special woreda, some kabales from Wolyta Zone and Silte Zone. 

Since SCS has become so large, it difficult to administer the resource and reach to every parish that are found in the Synod and to expand the Kingdom of God, simplify the administration of members and resources. Due to this reason, the people and the parishes requested the EECMY 6th council for the establishment of a new Synod -Amberico Bilate. The 6th council discussed the issues thoroughly and referred it to the 19th EECMY General Assembly for decision. The Assembly carefully looked into the matter and decided for the establishment of Ambericho Bilate Synod. The ABS office is now based at the former Durame hostel.

Ambericho Bilate Synod was part of the EECMY South Central Synod (SCS), but due to the large geographical area that the SCS covers, it was important to reorganize the Synod for the sake of better coordination of the work. The work of evangelism started in the area where Ambericho Bilate is currently serving a long time ago, from 1962-1968, and it was called Kambatta Home Mission. Then from 1969-77 the communities of believers were organized into a synod and name was Kambatta Synod. Since the communion of believers comprised people from bothe Kkambatta and Hadiya the Synod was renamed South Central Synod from 1978 onwards.


The ABS catchment area comprises 5 zones and 10 administrative districts with more than 8 nations and nationalities. According to the 2013 statistics report, ABS has 9 parishes under it, 142 congregations, 37 preaching places, 113,730 communicant members, 152, 066 non-communicant members. Total membership  265,796. In the Synod there are 120 pastors, 411 evangelists and 7,227 volunteers.

 Synod Administration

The current president(2015) is Rev. Desta Gidogo.

The administrative structure follows the established pattern  of the Church and, thus, the Synod is organized into the different departments: Administration, Department of Mission and Theology,  Finance and Administration, Development and Social Services Commission (DASSC) and other service providing sections. The Synod also has decision-making bodies like Council, Executive Board, Management Committee.

Basic Ministries of the Synod

The basic ministries of the Synod are being carried out as usual, such evangelistic outreach, Development and social services, congregational ministries and others. 

Institutions of the Synod

The Synod is running 3 Kindergarten, 3 elementary schools and 1 vocational training center and 3 child-based projects.

EECMY Strategic Plan implementation

According to 2014 EECMY Strategic Plan implementation ABS showed a good result, and  the Synod will continue to improve its implementation of the  SP.